Chocolate Banana Bread

As the weather turns cooler, I begin to bake more breads and sweets to enjoy with a warm cup of afternoon tea or hot cup of coffee in the morning.  I especially love quick breads that use banana or pumpkin.  As Paula Deen would say, “It’s Fall y’all!”

Today, we are expecting a special visitor, my husband’s friend, Joe.  Appropriately, Joe is from the deep South where gracious living reigns!  As this is Joe’s first trip to the Midwest, I’m hoping that my chocolate banana bread recipe (from Cooking with Paula Deen) helps him to feel right at  home!  Since Joe will be getting up extra early each morning (he is here to experience deer hunting in the great Midwest) I thought this would be an easy treat for him to grab on his way out the door.

This bread is quick, easy and so delicious!  Please excuse the photographs…they do not do this bread justice…and I might have forgotten to move my baking racks in the oven.  Blame it on new mommy brain!

Banana Bread (Makes 1 Loaf)

  • 1 cup whole-wheat flour
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 cup butter, melted
  • 2 eggs, slightly beaten
  • 1 1/2 cups ripe mashed bananas (about 4 bananas)
  • 1/3 cup plain yogurt
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Spray a 9X5-inch baking pan with nonstick cooking spray.  In a large bowl, combine flours, sugar, baking soda, and salt.  In another large bowl, combine butter, eggs, bananas, yogurt, and vanilla whisking until smooth.
  2. Fold flour mixture into butter mixture until well incorporated.  Pour into prepared pan.  Bake 50 minutes or until a wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean.

Chocolate Banana Bread (Makes 1 Loaf)

Prepare Banana Bread batter.  Stir in 6 ounces chopped bittersweet chocolate.  Bake 50 minutes.  Cover loosely with aluminum foil, and bake 10 minutes longer or until a wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean.

Chocolate Banana Bread Loaf

This morning, my little ones are enjoying this straight out of the oven with a cold glass of milk.

Wishing you all a beautiful and peace-filled Sunday,

Valerie

About gracioushomeliving

Welcome to her Little Ways, my blog dedicated to gracious home living. I invite you to join me as I chronicle our daily happenings that nurture my faith and family, heart and home as I strive to do ordinary tasks with extraordinary love.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chocolate Banana Bread

  1. Melinda says:

    Looking delish and sounding “Fallish.”

    Check your email. 🙂

    Melinda

  2. Erin says:

    Love Love Love the new site. I can’t wait to make this bread!!

  3. Had to check out your new blog – how do you like wordpress?
    I too am putting up a fence and totally expanding the Potager, we are going to grow as much stinkin’ food as we can next year!!! I can’t wait!
    And I would love to see your Potager plans.

Leave a comment