Tis the Gift to be Simple

“Simple Gifts” was written by Elder Joseph Brackett while he was at the Shaker community in Alfred, Maine in 1848. Sometimes referred to as a Shaker hymn or work song, it is actually a dance song and referencing religious freedom.

For me, these lyrics often come to mind when I become overwhelmed and desire a different type of freedom. Freedom from clutter, Fisher Price, “to-do” lists!

Matthew 6: 19-21 also references freedom from materialism.

Treasure in Heaven. 19 “Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and decay destroy, and thieves break in and steal. 20 But store up treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor decay destroys, nor thieves break in and steal. 21 For where your treasure is, there also will your heart be.”

Wow. “For where your treasure is, there also will your heart be.” Hmmm…

I really need to work on living this passage from Matthew. I have a basement full of stuff. Mostly baby stuff. Specifically, baby GIRL stuff. And although I was just positive I was going to be blessed with another daughter, God entrusted me with raising another son. A beautiful gift…just not the one I was expecting!

 

Our newest blessing!

 

And so I have a basement full of Rubbermaid tubs storing precious baby girl outfits. Not to be worn again in this house. And I know that the right thing to do is to donate and bless another family with these cherished outfits, but I am finding it so difficult to part with them. There are a myriad of reasons, but in the end, none of them justify my hoarding of them.

So, as part of my efforts for Day 3 of Making Your Home a Haven, I committed 30 minutes to working in my basement to sort, save, and donate my darling daughter’s baby outfits. (By the way…I only hoard her baby clothes…not her toddler or preschool outfits! LOL) I have also scheduled 30 minute sessions throughout October, being both mindful and realistic of other commitments on certain days of this month. It is my hope to have her baby clothes ready for donation by Christmas. What a wonderful gift I could bestow on another family around the holidays!

What ways do you manage clutter, be it paper, toys, clothing, etc.? I would love to hear your thoughts on this topic. This week I am linking up with Monica from The Homespun Heart to share ways that I am making my home a haven for my husband, children, and myself.  Feel free to join us or leave a comment here!

Blessings to all who drop by,

Valerie

About gracioushomeliving

Welcome to her Little Ways, my blog dedicated to gracious home living. I invite you to join me as I chronicle our daily happenings that nurture my faith and family, heart and home as I strive to do ordinary tasks with extraordinary love.
This entry was posted in Faith, Home and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Tis the Gift to be Simple

  1. Debra says:

    Hi-
    Thanks for visiting my blog and your kind words.

    I have had a hard time purging some of my daughter’s things from when she was smaller. She’s 8 now, it’s getting a bit easier. She is our only child and we thought she would be our only & so far we’ve been proven right. I think that was part of my hesitating to get rid of her things. We actually just cleaned out our playroom last night and I have stacks of things to go to the good will. Toys I have been holding onto. She won’t miss anything but I just might!

    This was a great post. Thanks for sharing

    • Hi Debra.

      You’re welcome! I enjoyed visiting your blog and connecting with you.

      I think because my husband and I experienced infertility and so many losses before the birth of our daughter, I have some serious emotional attachment to those baby clothes! HA! Seriously though, it is time for me to part ways with them.

      Looking forward to seeing what else Monica shares with us this week!

      Blessings,
      Valerie

  2. Jenny says:

    Glad you stopped by my new blog.
    you have posted one of my favorite scriptures. Our family does not like clutter, it naturally seems to show up with my children. It comes in the form of school projects that have been carefully made. One thing I do with them is have the child hold it and take a photo. Then the item can be enjoyed for a short time then thrown away. One day I realized that it was impossible to store every item brought home.

    • Jenny,

      You are very welcome. Thank you so much for taking the time to comment!

      Your response to my post is wonderful. As I just now have a school-aged kiddo, I am finding myself DROWNING in paper clutter. And while I really don’t have an emotional attachment to her schoolwork (former elementary classroom teacher here…hate paper! LOL), SHE does! Everything she makes is a “masterpiece!” I love the idea of photographing her with her projects, special awards, star papers, etc.!

      Looking forward to more visits with you,

      Val

  3. Clorissa says:

    Hi Valerie,

    I just wanted to say that your newest addition is adorable!!!! So cute!

    Regarding clutter….my solution is to move into a very old home that has one, single, solitary closet. Yep, in our 3 bedroom home we have one closet. And my husband has full use of it!!!!!

    Blessings,
    Clorissa

  4. Hi Clorissa.

    Thank you so much for your sweet comment on #3. He is a beautiful blessing to our family.

    One closet…yikes! Although I agree, that sounds like a wonderful way to manage and minimize the clutter!!!

Leave a Reply

