Celebrating Love

All this week, I have linked up with Monica over at The Homespun Heart for her “Make Your Home a Haven week”, but since either Blogger or her own computer is having difficulty posting updated blogs, I decided to join Cindy over at My Romantic Home for Show and Tell Friday.

Last week, my husband and I celebrated our 17th wedding anniversary.  Coincidentally, we recently purchased a new buffet and hutch for our formal dining room (that really has more of a casual feel).  Like a child on Christmas morn, I found myself giddy over the anticipation of unwrapping each dinner, salad, and dessert plate that I had in storage.  Stemware was washed and displayed in our new hutch as well.  All the wonderful memories of that beautiful Fall day when we exchanged wedding vows washed over me causing a flood of emotions.  (Well, that and the fact that I am a bit post-partum with happiness!)

So, for Show & Tell Friday, I am sharing our wedding china and stemware.  It is still as beautiful to me today as it was when I registered for it (Barrymore by Noritake) 17-years ago.    My china and stemware symbolize to me the fragility of marriage.  Just as choosing a china pattern takes discernment, so does choosing a spouse.  And just as china is breakable, so are the bonds of matrimony.  So while we handle our place settings and stemware with care, so too should we handle the responsibilities that come with entering into the covenant of marriage and celebrating unconditional love.

 

 

"Barrymore" by Noritake

 

 

Romantic Tea Cups

 

 

On display in our new hutch and buffet.

 

 

Our stemware.

 

Thank you to my wonderful for husband for committing himself to me; for 17 years of loving me unconditionally; and for giving me three beautiful blessings.

 

 

Our Three Blessings (Ages 6, 3 and 10-weeks)

 

Thank you to all that drop by Vintage Home Modern Living.  I hope that your visit here is both peaceful and a blessing to you.

Valerie

About gracioushomeliving

Welcome to her Little Ways, my blog dedicated to gracious home living. I invite you to join me as I chronicle our daily happenings that nurture my faith and family, heart and home as I strive to do ordinary tasks with extraordinary love.
This entry was posted in Home and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Celebrating Love

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Congrats on 17 years together! My hubby and I have been married for 17 years, too. 🙂

    Thank you for sharing your beautiful china. It looks like it matches the pumpkin that is next to it. And, later, when you arranged it all on your hutch, it looks wonderful.

    The Shaker hymn that is playing on your blog was sung, very beautifully, at our wedding reception. It means a great deal to me.

    God bless,
    Elizabeth

    • Thank you for stopping by, Elizabeth & congratulations on 17-years together! Those years seem to fly by…especially when children are involved. Thanks, also, for your kind comments.

      Blessings to you,
      Valerie

  2. Donna says:

    What a lovely comparison, Valerie, tying in marriage with your china and stemware. Beautifully stated, and your china and stemware are gorgeous. I don’t think mine ever sparkle that much! But-oh-that-last-photo!!! Oh my goodness, you truly are blessed!!!!! Your wee ones are GORGEOUS and the precious smiles on all their faces… I think you have your Christmas Card photo for this year!! Have a wonderful weekend!… Donna

    • Hi Donna.

      Thank you so much for your kind comments. I have had several family members and facebook friends say the same thing about that last photo…Christmas card photo! LOL Enjoy your weekend as well. Valerie

  3. mo says:

    What a beautiful family you have. I love how you compare the bonds of matrimony to fragile china. It is so true. Congratulations to you and your sweetie for a wonderful 17yrs! Your formal dinnerware is just breathtaking. And your pictures are beautiful. I especially like the one with the teacup wrapped in white fabric. *hugs*

  4. I like the way you think!

  5. Beautiful post! And I love your china. Congrats on 17 years!!!!
    I wish I used ours more often. We do try to use it on Thanksgiving and Christmas for sure!
    BTW-have you seen Monica most recent post? Just thought you might want to know.

  6. Clorissa says:

    17 years! Congratulations!!!
    Your china is beautiful, but not as beautiful as your sweet little darlins’!

    Blessings,
    Clorissa

  7. Danielle says:

    Thank you for your sweet comment on my blog. I am always excited to find new blog friends. Your blog is so much fun. I love your pictures. They are just stunning. Thank you again for stopping by and please come back soon :>

    -Danielle

  8. Danielle says:

    Valerie-

    I so hope you make the apple nachos. They really are such a delight. And I will definitely post those recipes this week. The sweet potato chips were so simple. I just sliced them really thin, fired up my deep fryer, and cooked them in there. When they came out I sprinkled them with some Lawry’s and they were ready to go. So simple and so yummy for lunch. My kids gobbled them up. Hope you have a chance to try them out this week. I think you will really like them :>

    Oh and about sewing you totally need to try it out. I learned about 3 years ago. I had always been so scarred. I felt like I could do paper crafts, but sewing was just to overwhelming for me. My sisterinlaw and motherinlaw did not agree. They finally encouraged me enough that I let them teach me how to make a simple blanket. After that I was hooked. It is so fun being able to take something ugly, like an old shirt or something, and make it in to a beautiful dress. It is so rewarding:> Anyways you so should check out http://www.RufflesandStuff.blogspot.com Disney has some great tutorials for beginners. Anyways great to chat with ya. Have a Blessed weekend:>

    -Danielle

  9. Lindy says:

    Your china is so pretty. What a beautiful trio you have as well!!!

  10. Show and Tell ~ what a fun idea! I just might have to do that… HaPpY 17 years too ♥ Enjoyed the picture of your children ~ Precious.

  11. That was my china pattern also! I’ve always loved Barrymore! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

