Celebrating Fall at Home

For Day 2 of “Making our Home a Haven” I thought I would share with you a few of the ways that I celebrate the changing of the seasons at our home. Please feel free to link up with us over at The Homespun Heart to share ways that you create a haven in  your home or feel free to leave a comment here.  I always welcome new ideas when it comes to decorating, landscaping, baking, etc.!

Yesterday, I shared with you my kitchen/eat-in/family room area.  These rooms were recently given a makeover.  Last Spring, the rooms looked like this…

 

 

Family Room "Before"

 

 

 

Kitchen "Before"

 

(Yup, we really do “live” in our house!  LOL)

Having a love affair with the color blue, I knew that I wanted to stay in the family, but lighten things up.  Plus, I never could “warm” up to the single wall color!  Thus, I made the decision to paint all four walls of these combined living spaces to unify the rooms.

 

 

Kitchen "After"

 

 

Front door entrance looking down center hallway.

 

As Spring turned into Summer and Summer into Fall, I began contemplating how my Fall seasonal decorations would work in our family room.  I think though, since blue and orange are complementary colors on the color wheel, they work together in this room when anchored by the black painted furniture and nick knacks.

 

 

Fall decor on our fire-place mantle.

 

 

Fireplace Mantle

 

As you can see, I have a rather large blank “canvas” to work with above our mantle.  I am thinking about getting a piece of iron work, perhaps a cross, for display.  What I would really like is a 16 X 20 family portrait, but am waiting until our youngest child is at least able to sit upright!

In our formal dining room, we recently purchased a new buffet and hutch to display our wedding china and store our stemware and flatware.  I have had so much fun decorating the buffet for the Fall season.  I recently changed out the plaid table runner and leaves for an orange and black table runner with pumpkins.  I love the plaid table runner because it is versatile enough for using in both September and November!

 

 

Our buffet decorated with plaid table runner, leaves, and pumpkins.

 

(Once again, camera issues!)

 

 

Here is the buffet display now being used as a "tablescape".

 

 

October buffet decorations.

 

Using a cute black and orange table runner that my sister gave me I displayed four wine goblets filled with candy corn.  I need to add some mini pumpkins and gourds to the arrangement to fill in and hide the excess material.

Last year, my daughter and I made these cute paper pumpkins…we made both large and small sizes and displayed throughout our home.  This year, I plan to make some new paper pumpkins using more neutral colors for display in the blue rooms.

 

 

"mini" paper pumpkins

 

In addition to these fall decorations, I often burn scented candles throughout the day or evening.  I love entering our home after I have lit a pumpkin spice or maple sugar candle.  It makes our home smell like I’ve been baking all day!

Later on this week, I plan to share with you how I decorate our front door/porch area to create a haven for visitors.

So how do you decorate for Fall?  Do you decorate seasonally?  I know many do not celebrate Halloween and others skip Fall completely only to decorate for the Christmas season.  I’d love to hear your ideas and see your displays.

Blessings to all who drop by today.  I am preparing to begin a busy evening of activities with our little ones. (Tuesday is our busiest day of the week!),  but I promise to drop by your blog if you link up to Monica or leave me a comment.

 

 

About gracioushomeliving

Welcome to her Little Ways, my blog dedicated to gracious home living. I invite you to join me as I chronicle our daily happenings that nurture my faith and family, heart and home as I strive to do ordinary tasks with extraordinary love.
This entry was posted in Home and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Celebrating Fall at Home

  1. Hello Valerie ~

    Thank you for stopping by my blog. You have a lovely home…love the paint color and how it really just makes your home feel so welcoming. The paper pumpkins are just too cute. We’ll have to give those a try. Do you have a link with directions? It looks like an photo ornament we made last year at a class we hosted, but how did you attach the green stem (rolled green paper and glue?)? Once again, lovely home and blog…nice “meeting” you.

    Blessings and peace in the Heartland this week from the Southern Coast 😀

    • Hi Jarnette.

      You are so welcome, and I thank you too for dropping by. I do have either a tutorial or a link to the tutorial I used to make the paper pumpkins with my daughter. I will drop by and paste the link soon!

      Again, it was a pleasure to meet you.

      Blessings,
      Valerie

Leave a Reply

